Red Quinoa Stir-Fry

I had a bunch of requests last night for my Red Quinoa Stir-fry recipe, so I thought I would pop it on here for everyone to share.

But before I get into it – if no one has used quinoa before, don’t let it scare you off. It is such a versatile grain that can be used in salads and stir-fries; and you can even use it as a substitute for everyday grains such as rice, couscous, and even porridge or other cereals. High in protein and fibre, it is gluten free and has a fluffy, creamy, slightly crunchy texture and a somewhat nutty flavor when cooked. It takes on the flavours of whatever you cook it with, or is just as lovely on its own with a few fresh herbs.

A few months back I discovered a beautiful little video on how easy it is to cook quinoa. I recommend checking it out before you get started, even if just for the whimsical style the talented Sarah Britton of My New Roots brings to it.

Red Quinoa Stir-Fry

Rinse one cup of red quinoa (you can use any colour but the red looks so pretty).

Place in a medium sized saucepan with two cups of cold water and bring to the boil with a pinch of salt. Cover and simmer until it is all absorbed (around 10-15 minutes). Put aside.

In the meantime chop into strips: 1 capsicum, a handful of snow-peas, 1 small red onion and 1 bunch of chinese broccoli.

For stir-fries I always use a teaspoon of sesame oil as I love the flavour and smell it brings to a dish (just be careful not to burn it) and a tablespoon of rice bran oil (I don’t use olive oil to fry with as it ruins it. Rice bran oil is much stabler for frying).

Barely brown 500 grams of beef cut into strips (or whatever type of meat you prefer or if you would like a vegetarian version try firm tofu, or just leave out and up your vegetables). Keep it rare or it can go quite tough.

Stir in 1-2 table spoons (I seriously never measure) of soy sauce and two tablespoons of honey, and a teaspoon of coriander seeds (ground).

Add the vegies and cook, stirring for a few minutes till they all become bright and vibrant, then add the quinoa and mix through.

I always then take it off the heat and add a bunch of chopped coriander, but that’s just because I love it.

I hope you enjoy! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Red Quinoa Stir-Fry

Leave a Reply

