Such a pain

I really hope my students appreciate the effort I’m putting in for them today. After missing out on my forgotten cookies last week they’ve been playing the guilt card so much I promised I’d make a special batch just for them. That promise was made for tomorrow’s class. Not a problem I hear you say? Just whip them up, pop them in the oven and go to bed right? Wrong. Today is the one day every month I end up a ball of exhausted pain (ladies, you know what I’m talking about). I came home early, put on a soppy dvd and promptly fell asleep on the couch. This wasn’t before I decided to use my nutrition knowledge and whip up a pot of spicy laksa. It’s like liquid ibuprofen with the addition of a little added turmeric and chilli. I admit I used a jar based laksa sauce, but the idea of making it from scratch at this point was beyond my physical capabilities. Spicy foods have amazing anti-inflammatory abilities. Adding foods like onion, garlic, chilli and turmeric to foods really pack a punch when it comes to pain and inflammation. They’re also fantastic for your immune system. Not to mention the flavour they add.

Laksa with turmeric, garlic & chilli

Now all I have to do is peel myself off the leather, get into an upright position and make these damn cookies.

Leave a Reply

