To Market, To Market

I got up uncharacteristically early this morning, which probably has something to do with daylight savings, but that’s hardly the point.  It was such a beautiful morning it put me in a mood that made me feel like the sunshine had kissed me on the top of my head and sent me off to work with a spring in my step. Corny as that may be, it’s true. To keep me in this sunny mood I decided it was high time I took a lunch break that involved actually leaving the stuffy building that I call .. Well let’s just say it was time I left my desk.

My leisurely stroll found me at the Victoria Markets in the hope of inspiration for dinner. I usually don’t like the busy lunchtime crowd but I found myself elbowing my way into the line for the borek stand. I was mesmerised by the shouts of the women behind the counter and the pushy yet trusting patrons passing money and hot-from-the-oven parcels of spicy lamb, potato and spinach to the people at the back of the line.

That was lunch covered. Now for dinner. I couldn’t seem to go past the two ladies selling fresh pumpkin and poppyseed fettuccine from their crowded little shop. I headed to the seafood next and bought half a kilo of pippies (and some gourmet sausages from the butchers for tomorrow night). Those ingredients, some organic cherry tomatoes, basil and chilli and I was almost set. On my way back through the stalls I stopped off for some goats chèvre and laughed at the man who smiled and said ‘Have a great day, baby!’

Pippies, pasta, basil, tomatoes and chilli

And this is what I did..

Boil your choice of pasta in salted water.

Add a little rice bran oil to a hot fry pan with a lid that fits (or at least covers it).

Add pippies and toss them in the oil.

Pour in about 1/2 – 1 cup of white wine and bring to the boil.

Add one clove of crushed garlic and stir in, reducing to a simmer and cover with the lid.

Slice the tomatoes in half and add to the pan.

Simmer until the pippies start to open.

Squash the tomatoes with a fork and add salt, pepper and and half a teaspoon of sugar.

Tear a handfull of fresh basil leaves into the pan and remove from the heat.

Crumble a little goats cheese in and stir through.

Spoon on to the pasta and add a little extra basil and goats cheese for good measure.

This was something I made up as I went along, so experiment with what works best for you. Cooking isn’t always about following rules. Let me know if you try any other variations. This one tasted fantastic! Enjoy.

5 thoughts on “To Market, To Market

  1. That’s a good one. Pippies with goat cheese. Never thought about it. It’s a bit tricky to get fresh mussles over here.Lucky you living in one of my favorites cities in the world.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Cheap Lunch « A Writers Larder

Leave a Reply

